Remote Library Instruction (Spring 2020) Guide

Do you have a comment about our new site? Please submit it here!
Remote Library Instruction
As always, the librarians are available to work with your classes on information literacy and research skills! While we can't work with you face-to-face right now, we can collaborate on assignment design, create resources for your course, or work with your students via Zoom. This is new for us, too, so we look forward to hearing your ideas! 

To get started:
  • Browse the resources (organized by very broad topic) in the lefthand menu and share anything you find useful with your students.
  • Fill out this instruction request form. You can request videos and other resources in addition to what's already available.
  • You will be matched with a librarian to talk more about how to meet your course learning goals. Please make your requests at least two weeks in advance so the librarians can prepare.
  • If you have any questions or problems, email willihm@linnbenton.edu.
Using the Library Remotely
Tie Library Instruction to Goals and Assignments!
Navigate to the sections in the lefthand menu to find not only videos and other resources, but also example learning goals/objectives and activities/assignments. Why include these in your course? (Looking for more library video tutorials? See our growing collection).
laptop that says (n)ever (s)top learning
Photo used under the Pixabay license.
More videos!
Find more videos on the LBCC Library Youtube channel.
Example Learning Goals & Objectives
  • Develop a researchable question which demonstrates curiosity about a topic.
  • Determine an appropriate scope of investigation.
  • Deal with complex research by breaking complex questions into simple ones, limiting the scope of investigations.
Example Activities/Assignments
  • Ask students to identify one topic they're interested in from the Topics list in Opposing Viewpoints or a site like The Conversation or  Society for Science News.
  • Have students submit a brainstorm (either paper and scanned, or using an online tool like Bubbl.us) of their topic and subtopics.
  • Ask peers to provide feedback on potential topics using Moodle's discussion feature with guided questions:
    • Would there be an overwhelming number of sources on this topic?
    • Would there be too few sources on this topic?
    • What questions do you have about this topic? What keywords stand out to you as being essential for this topic?
    • What other suggestions do you have for your peer?
(Some of the prompts above were taken from "Library Resources for Online Instruction" by the COCC Barber Library, which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.)
Other Resources
Videos
Mapping Your Research Ideas from UCLA Library
Picking Your Topic IS Research! from NCSU Libraries
More videos!
Find more videos on the LBCC Library Youtube channel.
Example Learning Goals & Objectives
  • Match information needs and search strategies to appropriate search tools.
  • Design and refine needs and search strategies as necessary, based on search results.
  • Understand how information systems (such as library databases) are organized in order to access relevant information.
  • Use different types of searching language (e.g., controlled vocabulary, keywords, natural language) appropriately.
Example Activities/Assignments
  • Have students keep a research log (example from UT Libraries).
  • Ask students to compare search results of library database with Google/web search.
  • Have students watch a database demo, try to find a relevant full text article themselves, and post a question/comment about the experience to a discussion board that includes a librarian.
Videos
What Databases Are and Why You Need Them from Yavapai College
Intro to Google Scholar
Academic Search Premier Demo from the LBCC Library
One Perfect Source? from NCSU Libraries
Accessing the Artstor Database from LBCC Library
More videos!
Find more videos on the LBCC Library Youtube channel.
Example Learning Goals & Objectives
  • Analyze and evaluate information to make informed decisions.
  • Define different types of authority, such as subject expertise (e.g., scholarship), societal position (e.g., public office or title), or special experience (e.g., participating in a historic event).
  • Use research tools and indicators of authority (such as article citations and publisher) to determine the credibility of sources, understanding the elements that might temper this credibility.
  • Understand that many disciplines have acknowledged authorities in the sense of well-known scholars and publications that are widely considered “standard."
  • Understand how and why some individuals or groups of individuals may be underrepresented or systematically marginalized within the systems that produce and disseminate information.
Example Activities/Assignments
  • Ask students to create an annotated bibliography that explains, in one or two sentences, why they think each source should be included.
  • Have students identify what might be the "most credible" and "least credible" source on their topic (for example, a professional cookbook would be a very credible source for making bread, while an anonymous recipe on the web with poor reviews would be a poor source).
  • Give students two sites on the same topic and ask them to compare and determine which is more authoritative and explain why.
Other Resources
Videos
Evaluating Sources for Credibility from NCSU Libraries
Evaluating Sources to Find Quality Research from PCC Library
Skepticism in the era of fake news and circular reporting from PCC Library
Beware online "filter bubbles" - TED Talk
Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface from NCSU Libraries
More videos!
Find more videos on the LBCC Library Youtube channel.
Example Learning Goals & Objectives
  • Give credit to the original ideas of others through proper attribution and citation.
  • Articulate the purpose and distinguishing characteristics of copyright, fair use, open access, and the public domain.
  • Decide where and how their information is published.
Example Activities/Assignments
  • Have students create a bibliography using a tool like ZoteroBib and correct any errors by comparing to examples in the resources below.
  • Give students a picture without any information. Have them use Google Reverse Image Search to identify the source and copyright status. (Note: it's hard and sometimes impossible, which reinforces the importance of citing).
  • Provide students with different Creative Commons scenarios and ask them to identify the best license.
Other Resources
Videos
Intro to Zotero Bib
Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction from NCSU Libraries
Wanna Work Together? from Creative Commons
More videos!
Find more videos on the LBCC Library Youtube channel.